2016 WLAC CS952 Web Design Contest

First Place Overall:

  • Katherine Lingad 2016

Second Place:

  • Victor Samperio 2015
  • Robert Higgins 2016

Third Place:

  • Anna Jovel 2015
  • Jemal Adem 2015
  • Nicole Dorsett 2016
  • Mikayel Ghaziyan 2016
  • Carl Galen 2016


Who is eligible: Fall 2015 and Spring 2016 students who completed or are currently taking CS952.

Only ONE entry per student. You can only submit one website for judging.


1) - Use of Web Technologies. Websites should include a variety of web technologies, such as use of relative and absolute links, images, media, Web fonts, JavaScript or jQuery, and web forms.

2) - Responsive Web Site Design. Websites will be viewed on smart phone, tablet, and desktop computers. Your website should be easy to use on all three devices.

3) - Use of Original Content. Websites created using original content will score higher than sites only using non-original content.

4) - Use of Effective Navigation. Websites should be easy to navigate.

5) - Creative use of CSS. Websites will be judged according to the creative use of CSS for styling. This can include use of background images, box-shadow or text-shadow style rules, or advanced CSS selectors such as pseudo elements.

Deadline: All entries must be received by 11:59 pm, on Tuesday, May 31.

Judging: Websites will be evaluated by an outside panel of professional Web Programmers not associated with West Los Angeles College

Winners will be announced by 5 pm on Monday, June 6. Winners will be announced on the home page of the Computer Science Division website.

First place (overall) $100
Second place, one winner from Fall 2015: $50.
Second place, one winner from Spring 2016: $50.

Third place, three winners from Fall 2015: 8GB Flash Drive.
Third place, three winners from Spring 2016: 8GB Flash Drive.

Prizes can be picked up in CE-101, the Computer Science Lab, between 6 pm and 8 pm on Graduation day 2016, Tuesday, June 7.

Any prizes not picked up on Tuesday, June 7, will be mailed to the student address on file with LACCD.

The Computer Science Division will not be responsible for any prizes lost during shipping.

Wayne Joness
West Los Angeles College, cs952